Our People

Executive Council

See Contact Details for more information.

President - Tim Jones

Tim is a Wellington writer and activist for low-carbon transport solutions. A keen walker since childhood walks in the Southland hills with his father, Tim has lived in Wellington since 1993. In 2005, Tim became Convener of the Sustainable Energy Forum. He was a member of the Government's Vehicle Energy and Renewables Group in 2007-08.   Subsequently, he joined the Save the Basin Campaign Inc, which with allied groups succeeded in defeating a proposal to build a motorway flyover at the Basin Reserve cricket ground in Wellington as part of the then-Government's Roads of National Significance programme. He is also involved in the Connect Wellington group which is campaigning for low-carbon transport choices in Wellington.

Vice-President - Carina Duke

Carina lives in Christchurch and is a Rehabilitation Instructor with Blind Low Vision NZ.  She promotes Accessible/Universal Design and is a member of local accessibility advocacy groups.

Secretary -  Craig Stansfield

Craig is an active member of LSA Wellington. He is passionate about creating walking friendly environments to encourage more people to walk more often, and further, and for many more trips.  Craig is a trained transport planner, a Fellow of the Institute of Place Management (FIPM), a Member of the Chartered Institution of Highways and Transportation (MCIHT) and a member of the Transport Planning Society. He was the Transport Planning Manager for the City of London from 2002 until 2020 and is keen to bring an international perspective and overseas best practice to help with LSA’s work.

Treasurer - Robin Rawson

Now based in Whangārei, Robin has lived, worked and advocated for public transport and walking access in Auckland, Queenstown, Dunedin and Whangārei. Robin's work spans Parks Planning, Landscape Architecture and Infrastructure Planning.

Dr Chris Teo-Sherrell

Chris is in Palmerston North. As a former City Councilor Chris promotes healthier, less polluting transport, waste minimization and enhanced neighbourhood vitality.

Ellen Blake

Kaituitui a Te Whanganui-a-Tara and previous Tumuaki tuarua, Ellen has been a strong advocate for walking both nationally and in Wellington for many years. Ellen is especially interested in seeing the next generation of footpaths and public spaces develop into places that people want to live in and move through as a first choice on foot. This means children, older folks and disabled people are part of the design of places and find them safe, comfortable and social.

Caroline McElnay

Caroline lives in Napier. Her professional background is public health and most of her career was with the Hawkes Bay District Health Board. In 2017, she became Director of Public Health at the Ministry of Health in Wellington, and was in that role through the challenging COVID-19 pandemic. She currently works part-time on various public health initiatives. She has a passion for long-distance hiking and running. Caroline is keen to support more people to walk as part of their everyday lives, particularly in urban centres - whether that be walking to work, to shops or schools, or walking with friends.  

Past President - Andy Smith

Andy was a software writer in the early 1970s and worked in the Finance, Telemarketing and Data Warehousing industries around the world; getting their computer systems to sit up and beg.  More recently Andy spent his time in the Not For Profit (NFP) sector as a volunteer, attaining a Graduate Diploma in NFP Management.  He was a Trustee of the SkyPath project, maintained the websites and mailing lists for them, Living Streets Aotearoa, Walk Auckland and the Auckland Folk Festival.  Andy was the convener of the 2WALKandCYCLE conference series in NZ. The walking community and many, many others were deeply saddened by Andy's passing in July 2021.




About Us

Living Streets Aotearoa is the New Zealand organisation for people on foot, promoting walking-friendly communities. We are a nationwide organisation with local branches and affiliates throughout New Zealand.

We want more people walking and enjoying public spaces be they young or old, fast or slow, whether walking, sitting, commuting, shopping, between appointments, or out on the streets for exercise, for leisure or for pleasure.

JOIN US and help with our campaigns